FAS Public Service Award

Since 1971, the Federation of American Scientists (FAS) has recognized an outstanding statesman or public interest advocate who has made a distinctive contribution to public policy at the intersection of science and national security. Past recipients include Senator Edward M. Kennedy, Richard Garwin, Carl Sagan, and Phillip Morrison.

2016 – M. Granger Morgan
2012 – Sidney D. Drell, Henry
– Kissinger, Samuel Nunn,
– George P. Shultz, William Perry
2011 – Richard G. Lugar
2010 – Barbara Pyle
2008 – Mark Levine
2007 – Edward J. Markey
1998 – Morton H. Halperin
1997 – Richard L. Garwin

1996 – Sally Lillienthal
1995 – Lester R. Brown
1994 – Jeremy J. Stone
1993 – George Soros
1992 – Herbert F. York
1991 – John E. Pike
1990 – John H. Gibbons
1989 – Frank von Hippel
1988 – Hugh E. Dewitt

1987 – Thomas B. Cochran
1986 – Charles B. Archambeau
– Jack F. Evernden
– Lynn R. Sykes
1985 – Carl Sagan
1984 – Ruth Adams
1983 – Edward M. Kennedy
1982 – Randall Forsberg
1981 – Philip Morrison

1980 – Jerome B. Weisner
1979 – John P. Holdren
1978 – William A. Shurcliff
1977 – Bruce N Ames
1976 – Hans A. Bethe
1975 – Bernard T. Feld
1973 – Wolfgang K.H. Panofsky
1972 – Matthew S. Meselson
1971 – Richard L. Garwin

FAS Hans Bethe Award

In 2003, FAS inaugurated the Hans Bethe Award. Bethe helped found FAS with the belief that scientists had an obligation to participate in the difficult choices that were forced on our country by the extraordinary advances in nuclear physics so vividly demonstrated by the development and use of atomic weapons. In the sixty years since the founding of the organization, the range and complexity of issues hinging on sound scientific advice has increased.

Maxine Singer – 2016

… for her exemplary scientific research, leadership, and public advocacy in ensuring the safe, secure, and ethical use of biotechnologies.


Stanford Ovshinsky – 2012

… for his outstanding research and development of materials science that have been applied to solar photovoltaic technologies, superconductors and electric vehicles.


Steven Chu – 2011
… for his innovative solutions to the energy challenge in the United States and commitment to developing carbon-neutral sources of energy.


John P. Holdren – 2010
… for his enduring work on complex global issues that hinge on science and technology.

Raymond Jeanloz – 2008
… for his demonstration of the reliability of the U.S. nuclear stockpile in the presence of a moratorium on nuclear testing.


Matt Bunn – 2007
… in recognition of his work to understand and promote the global control of dangerous nuclear materials and to stop the spread of nuclear weapons.


Steve Fetter – 2005
… in recognition of his outstanding contributions as an advocate for arms control and nonproliferation, and for his insightful and rigorous analyses of nuclear energy climate change and of carbon-free energy supply.


Philip Morrison – 2003
… for his unfailing ethical compass to America’s most critical decisions.

FAS Richard L. Garwin Award

In 2011, the Federation of American Scientists inaugurated the Richard L. Garwin Award. This award was established by FAS to honor the remarkable career of Dr. Richard L. Garwin, and to recognize his exceptional contributions in both scientific and technical achievement and his legacy of an enhanced national security to the benefit of society. Dr. Garwin’s critical analysis of national security and intelligence issues has resulted in a nation that is stronger and more secure. This award recognizes his legacy of brilliant work as a scientific and technological leader and advisor.

The FAS Richard L. Garwin Award for Distinguished Service is an annual award that recognizes an individual who, through exceptional achievement in science and technology, has made an outstanding contribution toward the benefit of mankind.


Theodore Postol – 2016

… for his work in assessing and critiquing the government’s claims about missile defense.


John F. Ahearne – 2012

… for significant contributions to nuclear safety as Chairman of the Nuclear Regulatory Commission, and for years of leadership in science policy.

Richard A. Meserve – 2011

… for distinguished service and significant contributions to nuclear safety as Chairman of the Nuclear Regulatory Commission, and for more than 30 years of leadership in science policy.