Single State Nuclear-Weapon-Free Zones 


General Provisions

Treaty Texts

References and Links

General Provisions
UN General Assembly Resolution 3261, approved on December 9, 1974, provides for the establishment of single state nuclear weapon-free zones (NWFZ).  Unlike regional NWFZs, single state zones can be created through domestic legislation or constitutional mandate.  Countries that have declared their nuclear free status include:  Mongolia, Austria, New Zealand, and the Philippines.

Mongolia:   The Mongolian NWFZ, established by the Law of Mongolia on Its Nuclear-Weapon-Free Status, prohibits an individual, legal person or any foreign state from testing, manufacturing, acquiring, stationing, or transporting nuclear weapons on Mongolian territory.  In the context of this legislation, transportation includes that of “nuclear weapons, parts or components of thereof, as well as nuclear waste or any other nuclear material designed or produced for weapons.”  This legislation gives the Mongolian government and relevant international organizations the ability to monitor compliance. Mongolia first announced its intent to establish its nuclear-free status after the collapse of the Soviet Union in 1992.  The Mongolian Parliament adopted the legislation on February 3, 2000 and it entered into force at that time.  Subsequently, on February 28, 2000, Mongolia’s UN ambassador submitted the Law of Mongolia on Its Nuclear-Weapon-Free Status to the Secretary-General.

Austria:  On July 13, 1999 the Austrian Parliament passed the “Constitutional Law in favor of a Nuclear-Free Austria.”  This law prohibits the testing, production, storage, or transport of nuclear weapons within Austrian territory.  Transport, as defined by this law, includes fissile material.  In addition, nuclear power plants may not be constructed or operated in Austria.

New Zealand:  As a party to the South Pacific Nuclear-Free Zone Treaty (SPNFZ), New Zealand undertakes not to test, acquire, station, or possess nuclear explosive devices.  The 1987 New Zealand Nuclear Free Zone, Disarmament and Arms Control Act goes beyond the SPNFZ to further restrict nuclear activities in New Zealand.  The Act bars nuclear-powered or nuclear-armed ships as well as aircraft carrying nuclear weapons from entering New Zealand’s territorial land and waters.

The Philippines In addition to being a member of the Southeast Asian NWFZ, in 1987, the Philippines amended its constitution to establish itself as a nuclear-weapon-free zone.

References and Links
Graham, T., & LaVera, D. J. (2003). Mongolian Nuclear-Weapon-Free Zone. In Cornerstones of Security: Arms Control Treaties in the Nuclear Era (pp. 24-30). Seattle, WA: University of Washington Press.

Kau, M. K. (2007). Nuclear Free Nation. Disarmament & Security Centre. Retrieved from

Nuclear Weapon Free Zones. (n.d.). Reaching Critical Will. Retrieved from

Nuclear Weapons Free Zones. (n.d.). Nuclear Files. Retrieved from

Renoldner, K. (2002, April 26). From Referendum to Constitutional Prohibition of Nuclear Energy: The Austrian Experience with the Nuclear Question. In Rethinking Nuclear Energy and Democracy After 09/11. Retrieved from