FAS | Intelligence |||| Index | Search |

FAS Project on Intelligence Reform

Intelligence Operations

Presidential Decision Directive 35 (PDD-35) "Intelligence Requirements" of 02 March 1995 establishes four categories of intelligence operations: Support to Military Operations [SMO], Support to Policy, Support to Law Enforcement, and Counterintelligence (CI). It also defines intelligence requirements from tier 0 to tier 4. Tier 0 is warning and crisis management, while Tier 4 is subjects that are virtually of no interest to the United States.

In 1995 the DCI, through the auspices of the Executive Director for Intelligence Community Affairs and the Deputy Assistant Secretary of Defense for Intelligence and Security, initiated a new budgetary process for fiscal year 1997. The Mission Based Intelligence Budget (MBIB) is structured according to the four "mission areas" for US Intelligence defined under PDD-35. Program Managers associated with the National Foreign Intelligence Program (NFIP) are required to articulate how funded capabilities and proposed initiatives support these four mission areas. Tasking from the Community Management Staff includes defining national missions and assessing the contribution made by NFIP programs to complete these national missions. Decisions related to the structure of the MBIB were worked out during December 1995 and formal documentation for the draft FY1997 MBIB was finalized in February 1996.

Support to Military Operations

Support to Policy

Support to Law Enforcement


FAS Homepage | Intelligence |||| Index | Search |

Created by John Pike
Maintained by Steven Aftergood