[Page: S19121]

Mr. SPECTER (for himself, Mr. Kerrey, Mr. Glenn, Mr. Bryan, Mr. Robb, Mr. Johnston, Mr. Chafee, Mr. Baucus, Mr. Warner, Mr. Kerry, Mr. Shelby, Mr. Graham, Mr. Kyl, Mr. Lugar, Mr. Inhofe, Mr. Byrd, and Mr. DeWine) submitted the following resolution; which was considered and agreed to:

S. Res. 201

Whereas, because of its concern with the need for objectivity, authority and independence on the part of the Central Intelligence Agency's Office of Inspector General, the Senate in 1989 included in the Intelligence Authorization Act of Fiscal Year 1990--subsequently enacted into law--a provision establishing an independent, Presidentially-appointed statutory Inspector General at the CIA;

Whereas in November, 1990, The Honorable Frederick P. Hitz was formally sworn in as the CIA's first statutory Inspector General;

Whereas the CIA's statutory Office of Inspector General, under the capable leadership of Frederick P. Hitz, has demonstrated its independence, tenacity, effectiveness and integrity; and

Whereas the work of the CIA Office of Inspector General under Mr. Hitz's leadership has contributed notably to the greater efficiency, effectiveness, integrity and accountability of the Central Intelligence Agency: Now, therefore, be it

Resolved, That the Senate expresses its congratulations to Frederick P. Hitz on his 5-year anniversary as the first statutory CIA Inspector General and expresses its support for the Office of the CIA Inspector General.

Sec. 2. The Secretary of the Senate shall transmit a copy of this resolution to Frederick P. Hitz.